Great Britain

England and Scotland had been ruled by the same kings for more than 100 years. But the two kingdoms quarreled often.

In 1707 Parliament passed the
Act of Union, joining Scotland to England and Wales. The new kingdom was called Great Britain.

The Scots were allowed to kep their legal system, but gave up their Parliament. In return, they received 45 seats in the English House of Commons and could elect 16 lords to the English House of Lords.